Digital Storytelling Post 1 – Introduction

Social media has been on the rise for years and these days more and more people are watching television shows whether they be live entertainment or the newest episode of Game of Thrones or The Walking Dead while simultaneously or afterwards interacting with content and creating content on social media sites such as Twitter, Facebook, Tumblr or Reddit. Because of this television has become something that audiences participate in rather than just sit back and watch. From live-tweeting (tweeting along with a show as it airs live) to crazy fan theories and fan art, the Internet is a big and scary place and it is full of all kinds of content just like this.

Audience participation during television shows has become so prominent in this day and age that the show Gogglebox is literally a television show where you watch other people watch television and give their opinions and you can also get involved by live-tweeting along with the show. Each episode of the show is then uploaded to the shows YouTube page for audiences to go back later and watch it again. To me this is quite surprising that this kind of television show is as popular as it is. Here’s a quick clip of the show in case you’re not sure what show I’m talking about. In the clip the participants of the show are watching and discussing the show Keeping Up with the Kardashians.

 

My curiosity of why people participate in these sorts of things and the huge more recent boom in audience participation is the reason I chose to research if how television audiences use social media during and after watching television shows hinders or enhances the watching experience as a whole for my Digital Storytelling Project.

I have chosen to present this project as a digital storytelling. Over four blog posts, including this one I will discuss what other people have said about this topic, my findings when I posed a survey to individuals and my final post will be a conclusion post wrapping it all up and reflecting on my results and overall what I found and what surprised me or I expected when conducting this research!

So stay tuned and watch this space, more to come! 🙂

Leave a Reply

